Create With Ella

A great WordPress.com site

I’m here for the candy!

on October 8, 2014

“Trick or treat…give me something good to eat!”

I remember saying that over and over at Halloween so much that my Mom finally told me that if I didn’t stop she would give me something but it wouldn’t be a treat, ha!

This week I will be showing you several Halloween cards and candy treat holders using our Scaredy Cat Paper Collection, complements, and assortment. Let’s start with a sweet treat candy holder accompanied by two Bootiful cards!

no tricks

To make the treat candy holder I used my new favorite cricut cartridge Artfully Sent and selected the sleeve card on page 43. The card is designed to be cut at 6″ but I changed it to 5″ and used black cardstock. Cutting the intricate spider web was a breeze! For the insert I cut a piece of the Scaredy Cat Paper collection to 3″x5″ so that the haunted house was framed underneath the spider web. Following the score lines I scored and folded my card and adhered the right side and bottom using Liquid Glass. With Colonial white ink I stamped Happy Halloween from the Holiday Tags stamp set in the lower right corner. This is one of many sentiments and frames included with the stamp set. I traced the spider web with a Sakura Gelly Roll Glitter Pen to add some shimmer.  Using foam tape I popped up a cute itsy bitsy spider from the Scaredy Cat Complements onto the web.  To give my little itsy bitsy spider some dimension I used a black journaling pen to outline his body. To give him so glowing eyes I used a Sakura Gelly Roll glitter pen. For the treat I placed a Ghiradelli chocolate square behind the card insert. From cutting to assembling this card took less than 15 minutes! Think how many of these cute treat holders you can make in no time…easy peasy using the Artfully Sent cartridge collection! To personalize your treat holder you can write on the back with a white sharpie.  You can also adhere a piece of solid cardstock to the back of the insert and write a sweet little note.

To make the “No tricks only Treats” card I cut a piece of 4″x8″ white daisy cardstock, scored at 2″ and 4″ and folded on the score lines. I cut a piece of the Scardey Cat Paper Collection  to 1 3/4″ by 3 3/4″ and adhered it on the left front panel.  Then I placed two black resin stars from the Scaredy Cat Assortment on the upper left front panel.  I also used the Halloween Greetings Stamp Set and stamped ‘No Tricks only Treats’ in black ink and outlined it with a Sakura Gelly Roll Glitter Pen. Placing adhesive on 1/3 of the stamped image’s left side , I adhered it to the right side of the front panel. You want 2/3 of the stamped image to be free of adhesive.  For the inside I cut a 3 3/4″ x 3 3/4″piece of Scaredy Cat Paper and adhered leaving a 1/8″ border . Choosing one of the many sentiments from the Scaredy Cat Complements I added “I’m here for the Candy” inside placing it so that it was not revealed until you opened card. What a nice little surprise!

The final card I  made is adorned with a cute little witch and her broom.  Using a 3’x3″ piece of colonial white cardstock with the fold on the left side as your base, I adhered a 3″x1″ piece of Scaredy Cat paper to the left side of the card front, keeping the edges flush. I then adhered a 1″x2″ piece of Scaredy Cat paper to the bottom right of the card again keeping the edges flush. Next I adhered a 2″x2″ piece of thistle cardstock to the card front placing it 1/4″ from the top and right edges. To complete my card I used the Halloween Greetings stamp set and stamped the cute witch and her broom in black ink and cut them out.  I then stamped the witch again using thistle ink and cut her out.  Using foam tape I adhered her on top of the witch I stamped in black ink and attached her in the middle of the thistle cardstock. From the Halloween Greetings Stamp set I stamped ‘If the broom fits, ride it” in black ink and punched it out with an oval punch.  I adhered both to the front of the card.  I placed two Itty Bitty Sparkles on the dots of the i’s in the sentiment.  For my final embellishment I stamped the moon and stars from the Halloween Greetings Stamp set directly onto the card using black ink.  Once everything was adhered I added some shimmer with a Sakura Gelly Roll glitter pen.  I left the inside blank to add a little treat and/or a sweet note.

I hope you have been inspired to create some of these cute and adorable little treat holders and cards. They really do come together quickly. They are great gifts for teachers, kids, friends, co-workers, neighbors, and anyone else who you may want to give a treat and no tricks!

The Artfully Sent Cartridge is full of fabulous cards that will make your handmade masterpieces come together easily and quick! I hope you have enjoyed this treat holder and learning about one of the many features this cartridge has to offer.  Stop by tomorrow to see my final two candy treat holders I created using Artfully Sent.  I know you’re going to love them as much as I do.

Are you thinking of ordering the Artfully Sent Cartridge? If so you’ll be interested to know I am offering a special promotion to anyone who orders the Artfully Sent Collection from me by 10/31/14.  You will receive a FREE stamp set of your choice AND if you are a local customer you will also receive a FREE  two hour workshop on how to use the cartridge by making one of each card design! Once I am notified by CTMH Corp office that your ordered has been placed, I will contact you to see what stamp set in the current catalog you would like to receive FREE! You can orders your today by clicking HERE.

2 responses to “I’m here for the candy!

  1. Ella Conner says:

    YES! It has arrived! Let me know approximately what time you’ll be by and I’ll have it ready…see you then.

    Like

  2. hey Ella ! just was wondering if my CTMH order came in yet??? I’ll be in Ventura both Friday and Saturday, I could swing by and pick it up if its in!! So excited!!!Beth

    Beth Camarillo

    Date: Wed, 8 Oct 2014 18:26:12 +0000 To: bethiecamarillo@msn.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

